Deadline for Nominations for the Jeffrey Clay Erlanger Civility in Public Discourse Award Extended to November 12

The City of Madison announced today that it will extend the deadline for nominations for the annual Jeffrey Clay Erlanger Civility in Public Discourse Award until November 12. The award was created in September of 2007 to honor the memory of the late Jeff Erlanger, who was committed to public service, focusing on constructive civil debate, fairness, openness, and effective representation.

“Jeff Erlanger was an individual of integrity, passion, intelligence, civility and politeness,” Mayor Satya Rhodes-Conway said. “He understood that thoughtful and caring people could have very different ideas on how to best address our community’s many complex issues and problems. At the same time, he was dedicated to the belief that people could disagree without being disagreeable. This award honors his commitment to that belief.”

Nomination forms are available online at . Nominations must be returned to the Mayor’s Office by mail (Room 403, City County Building, 210 Martin Luther King BLVD) or email ( by 5:00 p.m. on November 12.

The Erlanger Award was created to “recognize individuals or organizations who share Jeff Erlanger’s dedication to and compassion for public policy development, politeness, civility, individual and human rights, and who conduct their daily life consistent with these values.”

Erlanger served on the City of Madison’s Economic Development Commission, chaired the Commission on People with Disabilities, chaired the Board of Directors of the Community Living Alliance and ran for the Madison Common Council in 2002. One of his greatest accomplishments was his successful push for the accessible taxicab service that exists in Madison today. Erlanger passed away in June of 2007.

The award is presented annually at a Common Council meeting close to the birthday of Jeff Erlanger. The recipient of the Erlanger Award, and the person who nominated them, will each be able to designate a non-profit charity to receive $250.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *